Medical Marijuana Dispensary Moratoriums In Another 14 Cities, 1 County – OPB News (blog)

News | Oregon | OPB News Blog

OPB | May 5, 2014 2:48 p.m.

Contributed By:

Part of Series:

Fourteen more cities and another county have submitted their moratoriums on medical marijuana dispensaries to the Oregon Health Authority.

Now, 142 of Oregon’s 242 cities and 26 of 36 counties have temporarily banned dispensaries in compliance with Senate Bill 1531 — the law that allows medical marijuana dispensaries in Oregon and empowers counties and cities to enact a one-year moratorium by May 1.

The new additions to the list include rural cities (Arlington) and metro-area suburbs (Canby and Hillsboro), coastal towns (Cannon Beach) and California-border cities (Chiloquin.) The latest county to join the moratorium ranks is Yamhill County, at the heart of Oregon’s wine country.

But the number of bans could still grow because the state didn’t set a deadline for counties and cities to report their moratoriums. OHA spokeswoman Karynn Fish says they still haven’t received some notifications that local officials sent through snail mail.

Below is a map of cities that have passed a moratorium in compliance with state law and submitted to OHA. I’ll continue to update the map:

« OSU Confirms Coach Robinson Is Fired, Begins National Search For Replacement


Please enable JavaScript to view the comments powered by Disqus.

blog comments powered by

Recent Posts

Browse Archives by Date

This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at