Medical marijuana in Oregon: State releases list of cities with dispensary … – The Oregonian

The Oregon Health Authority on Thursday released a list of local governments that have imposed moratoriums on medical marijuana dispensaries.

According to the state, 131 cities and 25 counties enacted moratoriums on dispensaries.

Local governments are required to notify the state if they imposed a moratorium. Under a controversial state law passed earlier this year, cities have until May 1 to enact a moratorium, which can extend through May 2015.

Dispensaries may also face restrictions in other communities that have business license regulations allowing only establishments that comply with federal law; Marijuana is outlawed under federal law.

The League of Oregon Cities and the Association of Oregon Counties pushed for the legislation allowing moratoriums. The league represents 242 incorporated cities.

— Noelle Crombie


This entry passed through the Full-Text RSS service — if this is your content and you’re reading it on someone else’s site, please read the FAQ at